Understanding the Stages of Child Development

A boy sitting at a table looking at a book

There are four stages of child development. Stage I is when a baby is in the very basic stage of development. At this point he/she has no visible signs or symptoms of brain function. They rely on their mother for everything. Some babies will begin to show some motor skills such as pointing, grasping small objects.

Developing Basic Cognitive Skills

A close up of food on a plate

By the second stage of childhood, a child will begin to develop some of the basic cognitive skills which include attention, memory, language development, problem solving and planning. By the third stage he/she will have developed most of the cognitive skills that are required for academic achievement. He/she will have higher IQ and be able to function in most academic situations.

The fourth stage is the completion of the fourth stage, which is known as the cognitive stage. A child is now capable of storing information and using that information to solve complex problems. He/she can now competently handle information that is presented to him/her. He/she can now competently communicate with others. And he/she can now use the information that he/she has stored in his/her cognitive processes to plan and organize future events.

Four Stages Of Child Development Stages

A person sitting at a table using a laptop

These are the four stages of child development stages, and they occur in four sequential order. The first stage is where a baby is dependent upon his/her mother for everything. By this stage the baby has reached the first level of cognitive skills. The second stage is when the baby is capable of independent living and this allows the baby to gain more social skills and interaction.

The Piaget’s Stage

The third stage of child development is called the piaget’s stage. This stage occurs when a child is capable of manipulating the various elements of his/her environment. This requires the integration of various types of thought processes. The child is able to make use of his/her cognitive powers to acquire knowledge from different sources and then use this knowledge in order to solve problems. In order to do this he/she uses both his/her memory and his/her thinking processes.

The fourth stage is an important one, and it is the transition to different stages of life. In this stage the child is capable of forming different kinds of relationships based on these cognitive processes. These relationships include: the caregiver-child, the friend-parent, the teacher-child, the acquaintance-neighbor, the colleague-classmate, and so on. It is during this early childhood stage when the child begins to learn the various ways in which he/she can interact with others.

Bottom Line 

The last two of the 4 stages of early childhood, the concrete operational stage and the elaborative stage, represent the last two years of development. During the concrete operational stage, the child starts learning the physical aspects of his body. During this time the child acquires the knowledge of his skeleton and also learns the relationship between its parts. He also learns the meaning of the different parts of the skeleton. After this period the child is ready to move on to the next stage, which is the elaboration stage. During this stage he/she creates new concepts, creates new abilities, learns the relations among objects and their parts, makes use of his creativity and learns to organize his thoughts.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter